Winter Cabin in the Mountains

Finished another winter landscape painting which is set in the mountains and depicts a lovely wood cabin. I think the mark making is a little tight and needs to be looser or more expressive, for some strange reason my style keeps changing like I’m accessing different facets of my creative knowledge or style which gets a little frustrating if it’s not working or very interesting if it is working.  I don’t normally paint mountains or buildings so this was a bit of a learning experience for me however I’m not completely unhappy with the work. Traditionally I haven’t painted buildings however I thought that they might add some interest and structure to my work. I used some of the colors in my new Unison Lights set of 18 and find that I really like them and they are great for winter scenes. Pastels used include Terry Ludwig and Unison on Wallis Pro White Paper.

Winter Cabin In the Mountains

Winter Cabin In the Mountains, pastel on pastel paper, 12×18″

2 thoughts on “Winter Cabin in the Mountains

Leave a Reply

