Autumn Gold

I thought that it was time to paint a landscape featuring the Cottonwoods or the like as seen in works by masers such as Clyde Aspevig and Scott Christensen. Not that I can come anywhere close to their talent but I’m pleased enough with this one too call it my favorite of the year so far. Funny how I end up painting an autumn scene in the spring, but go figure, I never did make sense. I’ll get back to spring/summer theme when the mood strikes me, which will probably happen soon considering all the cool, overcast spring weather we’ve been getting in this part of the world.

I used the usual Unsion and Ludwig pastels on Wallis Pro White paper, based on a reference photo from Johannes Vloothuis picture download. I didn’t have to change the picture much other than suggest the distant hills a little more, edit out those dragon’s teeth evergreen trees and modify the tree to the right so it would be one large plant instead of two. Simplify where ever you can.

Autumn Gold

Autumn Gold, Pastel on Wallis, 12×18″

The reference Photo:

Leave a Reply

