Hello and Welcome

It seems that I have mastered Blogger so I thought it was time to try out my computer skills by creating a WordPress blog. I’ve always preferred the look of WordPress, since it seemed so much more artistic and professional but I had also heard that it was also more challenging to learn. Hopefully this won’t boggle my mind too much.

A little about myself…

I attended York University Visual Arts Program and graduated from studio painting and drawing in 1998. I also had a growing interest in the horticulture field and in garden design so I decided to pursue that line of work instead of the art scene in Toronto.

Life has a habit of throwing you a fast ball by times with a certain amount of humor and I found myself out of work when the garden center I worked for closed up shop. I worked at odd jobs for a few years until I decided that I needed to create art again. So for over the last year I have been relearning to oil paint again. I’ve also started creating floral and orchid portraits using colored pencil until shoulder problems made me give that medium up. Instead I’ve picked up soft pastel, which require far less pressure thereby less damage to my shoulder and I haven’t looked back. Now my two main mediums are oil paint and soft pastel rendering mostly landscapes and floral’s.

A few of my pieces:

Colored Pencil on Paper, Orchid Portraits

Slipper Orchid Lady Rothschild

Colored Pencil on Paper, Orchid Portrait Art

Paph Micheal Koopowitz

Hard Pastel on Paper, Orchid Portrait Art

Phrag Bouley Bay

Colored Pencil on Paper, Floral Art

Yellow Lily

Colored Pencil on Paper, Floral Art

Nodding Lily

Hard Pastel on Paper, Woodland Art

Maple Embedded

Oil Pastel on Paper, Winter Scenes

Winter Lake Through the Branches

Well that’s all for today! All the above images are artwork that I did last year so tomorrow I will post a few more that I’ve been working on over the last few months.

Leave a Reply

