>River Sunrise

With the arrival of the nice spring weather I decided that it was time to go for a drive along the Grand River here in Dunnville, and felt inspired to recreate a few scenes based on my love for this area. I’ve lived in this small rural community since I was five years old. When I picked up art again nearly two years ago, l wanted to paint the river but didn’t get to the job right away due to the many distractions of new found artistic inspiration. Sometimes a person just needs to slow down and enjoy what they have right under their nose. There are many tributaries that lead into the Grand along with large expanses of valuable marshland which provides a home to many of our wonderful Carolinian species. Living close as I do to the river I have the good fortune to see many of the birds and plants that are indigenous to this area and hope that I’ve captured a sense of these things without literally including them in the painting.
My interpretation of my reference photo, which looked like very early spring, involves warming things up a little, hopefully without losing the overall calming atmosphere on the river and wetlands. I also didn’t want to add as much detail to this painting, preferring the smoother and blended techniques to communicate the peaceful scene.

River Sunrise

River Sunrise

2 thoughts on “>River Sunrise

Leave a Reply

